A Grecian Getaway

Hello from Washington, D.C! I’m back here for the school year and life is already returning to a familiar, hectic state. Before things really ramp up, though, I wanted to take a moment to write you all the promised blog about my family’s time in Greece earlier this month. It was a wonderful adventure!

Mom and I in front of the Parthenon and hundreds of tourists taking pictures of the Parthenon!

Flying out of Sofia, we began the second leg of our trip in Athens. Our hotel, Home and Poetry, was right in the heart of the Plaka — a charming, if touristy, neighborhood near the Acropolis. With simple rooms and a gorgeous rooftop terrace, it was a lovely sanctuary, which was a blessing considering how busy Athens is in late July. We spent five days there, with one day trip to Delphi. That was more than enough time to appreciate the city’s many wonders. It’s truly astonishing how much of history transpired there. Around every corner is a building, ruin, or square of note. The very atmosphere of the city felt ancient and important. That said, I don’t know that I could ever do another summertime trip there. Because it’s a deservedly popular tourist spot, it takes on a theme park vibe similar to what I experienced in Venice a few years ago. It’s a shame because the city seemed fascinating whenever we escaped the hordes and souvenir stores. That escape, however, was not easily made. I wouldn’t trade our time there for the world, though. I got to see sights I’d only read about in history class (and Percy Jackson books, if I’m being honest) and the woman who worked at the rooftop restaurant took a liking to us and always offered free drinks and snacks. She alone was worth the visit.

Mom enjoying the pool at our hotel in Santorini — bliss!

From Athens, we took a seven-hour ferry to Santorini. It was wonderful. My dad grew up near the ocean and passed his love of water on to me, so we savored every moment out at sea. Well, except for the several hours we spent asleep. The ferry did leave at 7 am, after all! Santorini was a special destination for our family. My parents went on a trip there 20 years ago when they were expecting me. This visit was a sort of reprise — we even stayed in the same hotel! It’s a breathtaking destination. Our hotel was made of white stone and carved out of the cliffside, so each room feels like a cave. Though I encountered some of the same issues with over-tourism here as in Athens, nothing could beat hanging out in the infinity pool and looking out over the Aegean Sea. The best part, though, was hearing stories from my mom about being there two decades ago. Her reminiscing and celebrating of our return added magic to every moment.

Crete is a photographer and cat lover’s dream. I think I tick 1 1/2 of those boxes.

Our final stop, and by far my favorite, was Crete. This island captured my heart right from the beginning on the two-hour drive from the port (we had once again traveled by ferry) to Chania, the town where we stayed. It had an untouched energy unlike anything I had felt in Athens or Santorini. Thanks to its history of occupation, it also had a unique cultural and architectural flair. Influence from the Venetians, Ottomans, and others were visible throughout. As a history nerd, I was in heaven. We did two day trips during our time there. One was to Heraklion, the capital city, and a remarkable nearby archaeological site called Knossos. Our guide was amazing and the tour was fascinating! We learned all about the Minoans, an ancient civilization that predated and coexisted with the Greeks, as well as Crete’s remarkable role in World War II (google it, it’s incredible). The other was a boat trip, this time out to a lagoon called Balos and a nearby island. After spending nearly two weeks in sight of the sea, we finally got to swim in it and it was spectacular. Just the cherry on top to an already wonderful end to our trip!

Traveling for nearly a month is exhausting, but the family time and memories more than make up for that. I’m so grateful to have parents that take me on these adventures. And that we can be together for that much time without getting on each other’s nerves! This blog is far from the verbose, detailed write-up I usually do, but I hope you’ll cut an overwhelmed college student some slack. I’m not sure when my next international outing will be, but I’m already excited to share it with you all! Have a wonderful end of your summer. Let’s chat soon, yeah?


One thought on “A Grecian Getaway

  1. Hi Margaret –
    Just wanted to let you know that I always enjoy reading of your adventures! This looks like the trip of a lifetime… and I’m sure the three of you return with a lifetime of memories. I also googled the role of Crete in WWII and learned something. Such courage and sacrifice! Sending love,
    Aunt Cindy

    Like

Join the story!